Coffee Shop Love

Over second and third cups flow matters of high finance, high state, common gossip and low comedy.  [Coffee] is a social binder, a warmer of tongues, a soberer of minds, a stimulant of wit, a foiler of sleep if you want it so.  From roadside mugs to the class

ic demi-tasse, it is the perfect democrat.  – Author Unknown

Coffee is more than just quick dose of caffeine or a trend. While it does provide a great boost in energy, and walking down the street with a macchiato in one hand and a cellphone in the next does make you feel important, coffee flows deeper than the surface. It’s the beverage that brings a community together. Lasting relationships and friendships are birthed from that one trip to the coffee shop around the corner. Novel ideas, term papers, and political agendas are formulated over a fresh cup of joe. Coffee impacts our lives, our society.

Having been around coffee for a few years now, as a drinker and a barista, I essentially am in love with it. I recently had a desire to find the perfect coffee shop. I didn’t know where to begin, but thanks to a friend of a friend, I was able find the perfect spot to begin my quest.

It was a cloudy Tuesday evening when I walked into Chinatown Coffee. The usual hustle and bustle I was engulfed by when entering a large coffee chain shop, such as Starbucks, was missing. Instead, it was replaced by a relaxing, quiet feel. Though I craved a caramel chai tea latte (my. favorite. drink. ever.), I made a new acquaintance with a vanilla chai served to me in a mug. Settling at a small table, facing the entrance, I took in Chinatown Coffee.

My view at Chinatown Coffee

The humble atmosphere with eclectic music was not the only inviting trait but the decor of Chinatown Coffee struck a chord with me. It was simply decorated and I appreciated that. It had a lived in feel which made me comfortable. There was a creative contrast between constructed and deconstructed, with an entire wall made of brick, that gave it a slightly edgy feel.

As my eyes drank in my surrounds, I allowed myself to gently sip my chai. The thick foam sent shivers of delight down my back. I am a foam lover and Chinatown Coffee’s foam on a chai is perfection. Moving pass the foam, I tasted the chai tea and I was satisfied. It had the perfect balance between chai and milk. It was creamy and rich, not watered down and flat. It was pure joy in a mug.

It’s safe to say that between the friend of a friend that recommended Chinatown Coffee, and Chinatown Coffee itself, I was inspired to really pursue this journey and share it with you. That’s why I am here. As a lover of coffee I want to take you on an adventure. As I explore my city, searching the streets for coffee shops, and trying new coffee drinks, I hope to share with you the inspirations, conversations, and thoughts birthed at each encounter. I desire to share with you the atmosphere, the people, and most of all, the coffee.

Won’t you join me?

This entry was published on July 16, 2012 at 8:06 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment