Summer Flings and Iced Chai Teas

Coffee and love are best when they are hot.”  – German Proverb

Summer Flings: New and exciting or hot and heavy? Impulsive and unforgivable or carnal and unforgettable?

I guess it depends on the two involved whether a summer fling is either of the above options. Regardless, it’s a relationship where everything happens really fast and it’s unexpected.

That was me on Tuesday. In search of a new long-term partner (coffee of course), I stumbled upon my first summer fling: Iced. Chai.

It was sweltering outside. The metro system was malfunctioning (why was that not surprising) and I’d gone 24 hrs without caffeine with minimal sleep. Terrible combination. Really. It felt like undergrad all over again. At this point, I didn’t care if I was sweating through my eyes, I was finding the next coffee shop that possibly possessed my new long-term partner.

I needed it.

Five thirty couldn’t come fast enough. I nearly bolted out of my office building. Amidst the suffocating heat and poor sense of direction, I was able to meet up with my partner in crime and search out the newest shop: Filter.

Nestled between an alley and a Chinese carry-out and nail salon, Filter waited patiently for our arrival. Immediately, as I opened the door, I was drawn in by the welcoming air conditioning and the friendly workers. Much like Chinatown Coffee, the shop was quiet. Soft music played in the background. Standing at the counter, I mulled over what to drink. Something hot would be a mistake. A grave mistake. Something cold would be ideal—but what?

“You know what you want?” a pleasant voice asked. It belonged to a petite blonde who wore a bright smile.

“I know I want a chai, I just don’t know how I want it.” I laughed nervously.

“I really like our iced chai,” she began.

That sealed the deal. That’s how I came across my summer fling, Mr. Iced Chai.

Our orders were delivered quickly and we seated ourselves. This time, I faced the wall.

I have a thing for brick walls.

I took in the shop that, like Chinatown Coffee, was not extensively large. The interior design had an earthy vibe with woody colors and decor. The same pattern of brick against a regular wall was present but there was more continuity. Also, the non-brick walls each had different designs providing variety and eye-candy. As my partner-in-crime said,

“It has an earthy-mountain look. Like, I feel like I should be in Colorado. Like if I went to a coffee shop in Colorado this is what it would look like.”

What warmed my heart the most, were the photographs and drawings creatively dispersed throughout the shop. My favorites were located above the coffee cart in the far corner.

There is an organic vibe that oozes from this.

Open space. Intimate feel. Nothing beats this.

Filter felt more open. From the small talk and laughs with the workers to the other patrons, Filter had a very personable atmosphere.  As my friend began to spill the tale of a fling years ago, I sipped on my iced chai.

Shocked. Intrigued. Perplexed. That’s how my mouth felt as I continuously sipped my drink.

Shocked: I’ve had iced chais before but not like this. Most chais I’ve had possessed a sweet nature to it. This chai was not overly sweet.

Intrigued: Because of its moderately sweet taste, I was curious about its components (brown sugar for sure). It provided my eager tasted buds with a very natural, unprocessed, organic flavor.

Perplexed: With all that combined, I was perplexed by the after taste. I guess you could chuck that up to the brown sugar used in the chai mix. I took a sip of the cool sensation and was left with a pungent after taste that challenged me. It’s not bad. It just requires your taste buds to step out of the ordinary. It definitely had to grow on me.

Like a summer fling, Mr. Iced Chai was something new for me. He was tempting seeing as it was hotter than the earth’s core outside and, in the same way that summer flings can leave a lasting impression on your heart, he left a lasting impression on my tongue with that mysterious after taste. Mr. Iced Chai was a carnal and unforgettable fling. Carnal because my needs were met. He cooled me down and left me with an unforgettable flavor in my mouth.

Summer flings aren’t just fun and games, but lessons, and to be honest, Mr. Iced Chai showed me something new about myself. In the cold-coffee-drinks department, iced coffees and iced lattes are a better match for me and ultimately, for me, nothing beats a hot coffee drink. I mean, the German Proverb says it best.

Now Filter itself? The amiable ambiance that lurks invitingly at its doorstep leads me to think this shop will be more than a summer fling. I have an urge to try their macchiato. Who knows maybe that’s my long-term partner.

Til next time,

ZED.

This entry was published on July 18, 2012 at 7:28 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment